…you’re a ‘gypsy.’

First off, let’s be clear: in most European countries, the very term ‘gypsy’ is considered a racial slur. Traditionally it is used to refer to the semi-itinerant, semi-nomadic Roma people (who give their name to the country of Romania), but it has a derogatory context as the settled, city-dwelling Europeans have for hundreds of years turned nothing but distrust and malice towards those who did not adhere to their style of civilization. So to begin with, you probably should not be using that term.

Secondly, the sense in which you’re using the term is debatably even worse: it is the self-aware, shoulder-shrugging excuse of the habitually and unapologetically irresponsible. You can’t be on time, because you’re a ‘gypsy.’ You can’t be tied down in a relationship, because you’re a ‘gypsy.’ You can’t hold a steady job or take your studies seriously or wash your clothes because, well, you get the point. In other words, being a ‘gypsy’ accounts for all, or nearly all, of your bad traits. There’s a word for this: it’s called racism. You couldn’t do this with any other ethnic term and get away with it. Just because you’re not aware (or, again, too willfully irresponsible) to realize you’re referring to a real people when you use the term doesn’t change the fact that you are being offensive and racist. Never mind that the argument that you act a certain way because you are a certain type of person that acts that way is circular reasoning and idiotic.

The fact that you don’t want to take responsibility for your actions is sad. The fact that you’re aware of this and think you can excuse it with a racial slur is even worse. Either way, being a ‘gypsy’ doesn’t make you clever, or loveable, or interesting. It makes you a racist idiot.

5 Responses to “…you’re a ‘gypsy.’”

  1. What if I don’t think I’m a gypsy, and I’m just infatuated with the romantic fantasy of ‘gypsy’? A person who has broken free of society and is creating their own path

  2. I must say how much I love this post. I played a gypsy at a renaissance faire several years ago. To be absolutely honest, I picked a gypsy because I had the same romanticized view of them. I thought it would be cool to be play an outcast at a ren faire, and it was, don’t get me wrong. But they made us do lots and lots of research to be able to portray one. I am still in love with them, maybe even more so now that I understand some of their customs and know more about their history. But it really irks me now when I hear someone say “I have a gypsy soul.” Most people have no idea what hardships these people were put thru, how they were tortured, condemned, inprisoned… Hell, they were so looked down upon that in WWII, Nazis would kill them on the spot because they didn’t want to “waste space” on them. Do they have a fascinating culture? Of course! But the romantic picture painted by fashion and Hollywood is nothing close to their real culture.

    • Melek Esmer Says:

      I really like your comment and I can’t agree more. I am rom and it really does make me mad when a person uses gypsy so freely because it doesn’t mean what the person thinks it means. I used to love one singer but then she used gypsy in the title of a tour and now I can’t see her the same way.

      A lot of our customs and the want to stay so close is probably due to fear of losing our heritage and from years of hatred. In Turkey where my family is from, I’m not sure how to explain in other than we have our “place” when I go over there to visit in the Romani neighborhoods it’s strict but I watch TV shows about other Romani and I feel like it isn’t as strict. (That could be my opinion though) We still follow our traditions.

      I honestly think the only time you will see a “carefree” Rom is when we dance. (At least in my family, we’ll dance all day and what ever goes, there are no really no rules when dancing)

  3. rebecca Says:

    I was adopted and my mother would tell me ‘that’s the gypsy in you dear’ if I did something not her way. She meant no harm. Years later I FOUND OUT that I could have some heritage on one side of my family and that explained a lot to me of how I am. I have been tol that if you are brought up with non gypsies the community will look down on you . Everyone seems to have their own brand of prejudice
    and that makes me sad not hostile because that would be my own symptom of barrier and these barriers are not love. Love who you are , in all your complexity and see that we are all multi layered just as the beautiful colours that dance to music – we all need our own song.

Leave a comment